The Doek List Alternative submission opportunities for African writers and those of African descent.

The Doek List curates publications that have a consistent record of publishing African writers and those of African descent. African writers and those from the African diaspora are encouraged to submit their work to them when their submission windows open.

The list also mentions some literary news portals, book review sites, and podcasts which focus on African literature and, in turn, continue to provide information of other submission opportunities.

Cover Image: The Negro Whisperer, Namibia. © Rémy Ngamije.
Original photographer unknown.

123

20.35 Africa: https://2035africa.org/

A

Afreada: https://afreada.com/
Adda Stories: https://www.addastories.org/
Africa In Dialogue: https://africaindialogue.com/
Africa In Words: https://africainwords.com/
Africa Writes: https://africawrites.org/
African Writer: https://www.africanwriter.com/
AfroSF: https://afrosf.submittable.com/submit
Agbowo Art: https://agbowo.org/
Ake Review: https://www.akefestival.org/about-ake-review/
Akuko Magazine: https://www.akukomagazine.com/
The Amistad: https://www.theamistad.com/
Anathema: http://www.anathemamag.com/
Azure: https://www.lazuliliterarygroup.com/azure-a-journal-of-literary-thought.html

B

Bakwa Magazine: https://bakwamagazine.com/
Barzakh Magazine: https://www.barzakhmag.net/
Best Of Africa: https://thebestofafrica.org/
Brainwavez: https://www.brainwavez.org/
Brittle Paper: https://brittlepaper.com/
Books & Rhymes: The Podcast

C

Chimurenga: https://chimurengachronic.co.za/

E

Eclectica Mag: http://www.eclectica.org/index.html
Ero Gospel:
https://erogospel.com/
Everyday Journal:
 everydaysubmissions@gmail.com

F

FIYAH: https://www.fiyahlitmag.com/
Fortunate Traveller: https://www.fortunatetraveller.com/submissions/

G

Guernica: https://www.guernicamag.com/
Gutter: https://www.guttermag.co.uk/

I

Ilunafriq: https://ilunafriq.com/
Isele Magazine:
https://iselemagazine.com/
Iskanchi: https://iskanchi.com/submit

J

JALA: https://africanlit.org/ala-publications/jala/
Jalada Africa: https://jaladaafrica.org/
James Murua’s Literary Blog: https://www.jamesmurua.com/
The Johannesburg Review of Books: https://johannesburgreviewofbooks.com/
The Journal of African Youth Literature: https://africanyouthliterature.art.blog/

K

Ka’eda Africa: https://kaediafrica.org.ng/
Kalahari Review:
https://kalaharireview.com/
Kikwetu Journal: http://www.kikwetujournal.com/
Kweli Journal: http://www.kwelijournal.org/

L

Libretto: https://librettong.com/
Literandra:
http://literandra.com/
Litro: https://www.litro.co.uk/
Lolwe: https://lolwe.org/
Lunaris Review: https://review.lunaris.com.ng/
Lunar Station Quarterly: http://lunastationquarterly.com/

M

Minority Africa: https://minorityafrica.org/

N

Nalubaale Review: https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/
New Contrast:
http://www.newcontrast.net/
New Ink Review: https://thenir.wordpress.com/

O

Omenana: https://omenana.com

P

Plantin: https://plantinmag.com/
Poda-Poda:
https://poda-poda.com/
Praxis Mgazine:
http://www.praxismagonline.com/
Pree: https://preelit.com/

R

A Reader’s Community: Podcast
Revista Literatas:
 http://www.literatasmz.org/

S

Sable Literary Magazine: http://www.sablelitmag.org/
SAND Journal:
https://sandjournal.com/
Silver Pinion:
 https://www.silverpinion.org/
The Single Story Foundation: https://singlestory.org/
Short Story Day Africa: http://shortstorydayafrica.org/
Strange Horizons: http://strangehorizons.com/
SUNU Journal: https://www.sunujournal.com/
Sultan’s Seal: https://sultansseal.com/

T

Transition Magazine: https://hutchinscenter.fas.harvard.edu/transition

U

Uncanny Magazine: https://uncannymagazine.com/

W

Wasafiri: https://www.wasafiri.org/
Wawa Book Review: https://wawabookreview.com/