The Doek List Alternative submission opportunities for African writers and those of African descent.

The Doek List curates publications and organisations that have a consistent record of publishing and recognising African writers and those of African descent. Eligible writers are encouraged to submit their work to them when their submission windows open.


123

20.35 Africa: https://2035africa.org/

A

Afreada: https://afreada.com/
Adda Stories: https://www.addastories.org/
Africa In Dialogue: https://africaindialogue.com/
Africa In Words: https://africainwords.com/
Africa Writes: https://africawrites.org/
African Writer: https://www.africanwriter.com/
Afritondo: https://www.afritondo.com/
AfroSF: https://afrosf.submittable.com/submit
Agbowo Art: https://agbowo.org/
Ake Review: https://www.akefestival.org/about-ake-review/
Akuko Magazine: https://www.akukomagazine.com/
A Long House: https://alonghouse.com/
The Amistad: https://www.theamistad.com/
Anathema: http://www.anathemamag.com/
ArabLit Quarterly: https://arablit.org/
Azure: https://www.lazuliliterarygroup.com/azure-a-journal-of-literary-thought.html

B

Bakwa Magazine: https://bakwamagazine.com/
Barzakh Magazine: https://www.barzakhmag.net/
Best Of Africa: https://thebestofafrica.org/
BKO Magazine: https://bkomagazine.co.za/
Brainwavez: https://www.brainwavez.org/
Brittle Paper: https://brittlepaper.com/
Books & Rhymes: The Podcast

C

Caine Prize for African Writing: https://www.caineprize.com/
Chimurenga:
https://chimurengachronic.co.za/

E

Eclectica Mag: http://www.eclectica.org/index.html
Ero Gospel:
https://erogospel.com/
Everyday Journal:
 everydaysubmissions@gmail.com

F

FIYAH: https://www.fiyahlitmag.com/
Fortunate Traveller: https://www.fortunatetraveller.com/submissions/

G

Guernica: https://www.guernicamag.com/
Gutter: https://www.guttermag.co.uk/

I

Imbiza Journal: https://www.imbizajournal.co.za/
Ilunafriq:
https://ilunafriq.com/
Isele Magazine:
https://iselemagazine.com/
Iskanchi: https://iskanchi.com/submit

J

JALA: https://africanlit.org/ala-publications/jala/
Jalada Africa: https://jaladaafrica.org/
James Currey Prize for African Literature: https://jamescurreyprize.com/
James Murua’s Literary Blog: https://www.jamesmurua.com/
The Johannesburg Review of Books: https://johannesburgreviewofbooks.com/
The Journal of African Youth Literature: https://africanyouthliterature.art.blog/

K

Ka’eda Africa: https://kaediafrica.org.ng/
Kalahari Review:
https://kalaharireview.com/
Kendeka Prize for African Literature: https://www.solanopublications.com/kendeka-prize/
Kikwetu Journal: http://www.kikwetujournal.com/
Kweli Journal: http://www.kwelijournal.org/

L

Libretto: https://librettong.com/
Literandra:
http://literandra.com/
Literatas: http://www.literatasmz.org/
Litro: https://www.litro.co.uk/
Lolwe: https://lolwe.org/
Lunaris Review: https://review.lunaris.com.ng/
Lunar Station Quarterly: http://lunastationquarterly.com/

M

Meskot: http://www.meskot.com/
Minority Africa:
https://minorityafrica.org/
Mosaic Literary Magazine: https://mosaicmagazine.org/

N

Nalubaale Review: https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/
New Contrast:
http://www.newcontrast.net/
New Ink Review: https://thenir.wordpress.com/

O

Olongo Africa: https://olongoafrica.com/
Omenana:
https://omenana.com

P

Plantin: https://plantinmag.com/
Periferias:
https://revistaperiferias.org/en/
Poda-Poda:
https://poda-poda.com/
Praxis Mgazine:
http://www.praxismagonline.com/
Pree: https://preelit.com/

R

A Reader’s Community: Podcast
Revista Literatas:
 http://www.literatasmz.org/

S

Sable Literary Magazine: http://www.sablelitmag.org/
SAND Journal:
https://sandjournal.com/
Silver Pinion:
 https://www.silverpinion.org/
The Single Story Foundation: https://singlestory.org/
Short Story Day Africa: http://shortstorydayafrica.org/
Strange Horizons: http://strangehorizons.com/
SUNU Journal: https://www.sunujournal.com/
Sultan’s Seal: https://sultansseal.com/

T

The Single Story Foundation: https://singlestory.org/
Transition Magazine:
https://hutchinscenter.fas.harvard.edu/transition

U

Uncanny Magazine: https://uncannymagazine.com/

W

Wasafiri: https://www.wasafiri.org/
Wawa Book Review: https://wawabookreview.com/


Cover Image: The Negro Whisperer.
© Rémy Ngamije.
Original photographer unknown.