Editorial Team Meet the editors bringing Namibian and African writing to the world.


Rémy Ngamije is a Rwandan-born Namibian writer and photographer. His debut novel The Eternal Audience Of One is forthcoming from Scout Press (S&S). His work has appeared in Litro Magazine, AFREADA, The Johannesburg Review of Books, Brainwavez, The Amistad, The Kalahari Review, American Chordata, Doek!, Azure, Sultan’s Seal, Santa Ana River Review, Columbia Journal, New Contrast, Necessary Fiction, Silver Pinion, and Lolwe. He was shortlisted for the 2020 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing and longlisted for the 2020 Afritondo Short Story Prize.


Kay-Leigh de Sousa is a Namibian freelance writer and editor from Windhoek. She holds a BA in English literature and drama at Rhodes University in South Africa, two disciplines reliant on the art of storytelling. A reader, foremost, Kay-Leigh is an advocate for African stories being heard around the world. In 2019 she co-wrote and published an ebook on mental health in the African context: Mental Health and Suicide Prevention.


Mutaleni Nadimi is a Namibian writer, filmmaker, and publishing professional. She holds an MA in Anthropology from Leiden University and a BA in Film from Bennington College. She is a former Editorial and Production Manager at the University of Namibia Press and currently works at Erasmus University Rotterdam’s data and publication department in the Netherlands.


Mubanga Kalimamukwento is a Zambian writer, lawyer, and the author of The Mourning Bird (Jacana, 2019) which won the Dinaane Fiction Award. She won the 2019 Kalemba Short Story Prize and was shortlisted for the Nobrow and Bristol Short Story Prizes. Her work has appeared in the Red Rock Review, Dreamers Creative Writing, the Advocates for Human Rights, Two Sisters, the Menteur, SyncityNG, Overland, Doek! and other places. She’s an alumna of the Hubert H. Humphrey Fulbright Fellowship and the Young African Leaders Initiative. She is a current MFA candidate at Hamline University.


Sibongile Tshabalala is a Namibian-South African communications specialist. Her creative backgrounds are in comedy, copywriting and content production, creative writing and poetry, as well as radio and television broadcasting. She holds a BA degree in journalism and communication from the Namibian University of Science and Technology. She recently served as the Namibian correspondent for the European Union.


Zanta Nkumane is a Swazi freelance writer, journalist and ex-scientist. His work has been published in OkayAfrica, This Is Africa, Mail & Guardian, Racebaitr, Kalahari Review, City Press, The Johannesburg Review Of Books, New Frame, Doek!, and Lolwe. He has work forthcoming work in We F**king Here (iwawelabooks), a queer sex anthology. He completed his undergraduate studies in microbiology from the University of Cape Town and his honours degree in journalism and media studies from the University of the Witwatersrand.


Beauty Boois is a Namibian writer, poet, blogger, yoga teacher, spoken word artist, and activist. They hold a Bachelor of Psychology (Hons) degree in clinical psychology from the University of Namibia. Their written work has appeared in OWELA, Elephant Journal, Monochrome Magazine, and the African Feminism Blog. Their debut novel—|Namgu’s Escape Theory—was published by UNAM Press in 2020.


Jean-Claude Tjitamunisa is a Namibian multi-disciplinary artist working as a photographer, graphic designer, actor, and voice-over artist. He is a new media design student at the College of the Arts in Windhoek, Namibia. His work has appeared in Doek!.

Ibilola Odunlami is a Namibian-Nigerian freelance copy editor and aspiring illustrator from Windhoek. She holds a BA Languages degree in Journalism from the University of Pretoria, and an Honours degree in Journalism and Media Technology from Namibia University of Science and Technology. With an appetite for strong local content, Ibilola is an enthusiastic participant in the advancement of Namibia’s creative industry.

Cover Image: Walvis Bay. © Shawn Van Eeden.